News Room

The Izaak Walton League is one of the most effective and longest-serving conservation organizations in the United States. Since 1922, the League has been instrumental in establishing the nation's bedrock environmental laws and policies that protect the nation's woods, waters and wildlife. In addition to national advocacy, the League continues to pioneer community-based conservation and citizen science programs locally.

Media contacts

Michael Reinemer, Communications Director and editor of Outdoor America, mreinemer@iwla.org, 301-548-0150, ext 220, or 703-966-9574. More under "for media inquiries" below.

  • Izaak Walton League Hires Jared Mott as Conservation Director

    02/06/2017
    The Izaak Walton League of America is pleased to announce that Jared Mott joined our staff as Conservation Director.
    Full story
  • Sportsmen's Groups Call on Congress to Fully Fund Land and Water Conservation Fund

    09/02/2014
    The nation’s leading hunting and fishing conservation organizations are calling on Congress to fully fund the Land and Water Conservation Fund, a critical tool for conserving valuable fish and wildlife habitat and improving public access for hunting and fishing.
    Full story
  • Izaak Walton’s Compleat Angler Offers Conservation Vision for the Future

    04/01/2014
    As the Izaak Walton League of America closes in on a century of service conserving America’s natural resources and ensuring public access to those resources, Oxford University Press today issued a new edition of Izaak Walton’s "The Compleat Angler" – one of the most original and influential books about the environment.
    Full story
  • Izaak Walton League Names Scott Kovarovics as Executive Director

    12/20/2012
    The Izaak Walton League of America, one of the nation’s oldest and most successful conservation organizations, named Scott Kovarovics as Executive Director this week. Kovarovics brings more than 20 years of managerial and advocacy experience to the position as well as a passion for defending outdoor America for future generations.
    Full story
  • 56 Groups Urge Budget Cutters to Protect Agricultural Conservation

    09/28/2011
    A national coalition of 56 policy and advocacy organizations – including the Izaak Walton League of America – is urging Congress to preserve funding for essential U.S. Department of Agriculture conservation programs and take additional steps to enhance soil, water quality and wildlife on agricultural land. The coalition outlined a set of key principles that lawmakers should observe as they write the Conservation Title of the 2012 Farm Bill and seek ways to trim the federal deficit.
    Full story
For media inquiries
All Media Inquiries

Michael Reinemer, Director of Communications and Editor of Outdoor America
mreinemer@iwla.org. Cell: 703-966-9574, 301-548-0150 ext 220

Agriculture Policy: Expert staff

Kate Hansen, Agriculture Program Director – khansen@iwla.org

Environmental Legislation: Expert staff

Jared Mott, Conservation Director – jmott@iwla.org

Water Quality: Expert staff

Samantha Puckett, Clean Water Program Director – spuckett@iwla.org

Virginia: Kira Carney, Save Our Streams Coordinator, Mid-Atlantic region – kcarney@iwla.org Iowa: Heather Wilson, Save Our Streams Coordinator, Midwest region – hwilson@iwla.org Chesapeake Bay: Matthew Kierce, Chesapeake Monitoring and Outreach Program Coordinator – mkierce@iwla.org Missouri River Region: Paul Lepisto, Regional Conservation Coordinator, Missouri River Initiative – plepisto@iwla.org

Newsletter Sign Up