News Room

The Izaak Walton League, one of America’s oldest and most successful conservation organizations, protects outdoor America in communities across the country.

  • New EPA Rule for Clean Water Protections Would Threaten Fish and Waterfowl

    12/11/2018
    EPA and the Army Corps of Engineers took the next step to replace an Obama-era rule that benefited headwater streams and wetlands across the country. The new rule would redefine which waters are eligible for Clean Water Act protections and leave important habitat for fish and waterfowl vulnerable to pollution and destruction.
    Full story
  • Chesapeake Bay Leaders Support Volunteer Water Quality Monitoring

    10/22/2018
    The Chesapeake Bay Program partnership recognized the value of citizen science data collected through the Chesapeake Monitoring Cooperative (CMC) in assessing the health and restoration progress of the Chesapeake Bay watershed with a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) signed on October 12.
    Full story
  • Izaak Walton League Returns as Sponsor for National Hunting and Fishing Day

    09/11/2018
    The Izaak Walton League of America (IWLA) continued its longtime support for National Hunting and Fishing Day (NHF Day) by returning as a sponsor for 2018. NHF Day brings together sportsmen and women to celebrate the rich tradition of fishing and hunting, with national, regional, state, and local organizations hosting fishing- and hunting-related events.
    Full story
  • Lawsuit aims to prevent mining pollution near Boundary Waters Wilderness in Minnesota

    06/25/2018
    Today The Wilderness Society, Center for Biological Diversity, and the Izaak Walton League of America, represented by Earthjustice, filed a lawsuit in federal district court in Washington, D.C. to prevent sulfide-ore mining at the edge of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness in northeastern Minnesota.
    Full story
  • House Farm Bill Passage A Lost Opportunity

    06/21/2018
    The Farm Bill passed by the U.S. House of Representatives Thursday (21 June 2018) wasted an opportunity to produce a bill with broad support that would have greatly enhanced US water quality, healthy soils, and wildlife.
    Full story


For media inquiries
Water Quality

Samantha Briggs, Clean Water Program Director – sbriggs@iwla.org

In Iowa

Zach Moss, Save Our Streams Coordinator, Midwest region – zmoss@iwla.org

In Virginia

Rebecca Shoer, Save Our Streams Coordinator, Mid-Atlantic region – rshoer@iwla.org

In the Chesapeake Bay

Emily Bialowas, Chesapeake Monitoring and Outreach Program Coordinator – ebialowas@iwla.org

In the Missouri River

Paul Lepisto, Regional Conservation Coordinator, Missouri River Initiative – plepisto@iwla.org


Agriculture Policy

Duane Hovorka, Agriculture Program Director – dhovorka@iwla.org

In Illinois and Iowa

Tim Wagner, Agriculture Outreach Coordinator – twagner@iwla.org


Environmental Legislation

Jared Mott, Conservation Director – jmott@iwla.org


General Inquiries

Contact us at media@iwla.org.