News Room

The Izaak Walton League is one of the most effective and longest-serving conservation organizations in the United States. Since 1922, the League has been instrumental in establishing the nation's bedrock environmental laws and policies that protect the nation's woods, waters and wildlife. In addition to national advocacy, the League continues to pioneer community-based conservation and citizen science programs locally.

Media contacts

Michael Reinemer, Communications Director and editor of Outdoor America, mreinemer@iwla.org, 301-548-0150, ext 220, or 703-966-9574. More under "for media inquiries" below.

  • Izaak Walton League Board Names Acting Executive Director

    08/16/2012
    The Izaak Walton League of America’s Executive Board announced this week that it has named Scott Kovarovics Acting Executive Director. Kovarovics’ responsibilities will span the wide range of issues in which the League is involved, from overseeing the organization’s $3.5 million budget to directing conservation work and member services.
    Full story
  • House Interior Appropriations Bill Slashes Conservation Funding

    06/28/2012
    The House Appropriations Committee voted for an Interior Appropriations bill that slashes funding for conservation and continues a month-long assault on Clean Water Act protections for healthy wetlands, clean streams, and drinking water for 117 million Americans.
    Full story
  • Congress Continues to Undermine Clean Water, Healthy Wetlands

    06/20/2012
    Both chambers in Congress have taken aim at the Clean Water Act with a flurry of amendments that undermine hunting, angling, and outdoor recreation traditions along with the economic activity driven by these sports.
    Full story
  • Izaak Walton League Calls For Three Conservation Priorities in 2012 Farm Bill

    06/05/2012
    In a report released today, "The 2012 Farm Bill: Stewardship, Prosperity, and Fairness," the Izaak Walton League identifies top priorities that will help keep America’s lakes and rivers clean, save soil for future food production, conserve habitat for fish and wildlife, and ensure national farm policy is fiscally responsible.
    Full story
  • House of Representatives Rejects Clean Water Protections

    06/01/2012
    The U.S. House of Representatives today struck a blow against Clean Water Act protections for streams that supply drinking water to 117 million Americans and wetlands that provide critical flood protection and fish and wildlife habitat. The full House rejected an amendment to allow the Army Corps of Engineers to proceed with Clean Water Act guidance and a future rulemaking.
    Full story
For media inquiries
All Media Inquiries

Michael Reinemer, Director of Communications and Editor of Outdoor America
mreinemer@iwla.org. Cell: 703-966-9574, 301-548-0150 ext 220 

Agriculture Policy: Expert staff
Duane Hovorka, Agriculture Program Director – dhovorka@iwla.org

Environmental Legislation: Expert staff

Jared Mott, Conservation Director – jmott@iwla.org

Water Quality: Expert staff

Samantha Briggs, Clean Water Program Director – sbriggs@iwla.org

Virginia: Kira Carney, Save Our Streams Coordinator, Mid-Atlantic region – kcarney@iwla.org Chesapeake Bay: Emily Bialowas, Chesapeake Monitoring and Outreach Program Coordinator – ebialowas@iwla.org Missouri River Region: Paul Lepisto, Regional Conservation Coordinator, Missouri River Initiative – plepisto@iwla.org
All Media Inquiries

Michael Reinemer, Director of Communications and Editor of Outdoor America. 
mreinemer@iwla.org. Cell: 703-966-9574, 301-548-0150 ext 220