News Room

The Izaak Walton League, one of America’s oldest and most successful conservation organizations, protects outdoor America in communities across the country.

Izaak Walton League Statement on Climate and Energy Actions

03/28/2017

Today, the administration took the first steps to repeal policies to combat climate change and promote increased extraction of coal and natural gas on public lands. With these actions, the administration continues to roll back policies that protect public health and our air, water, and wildlife.

The science is clear, consistent, and building every year: human actions are driving a warming climate. That change is negatively impacting people and communities with more violent storms, persistent droughts, and oppressive heat waves. These changes are harming fish and wildlife and, by extension, hunting and angling and the $646 billion outdoor recreation economy.

Limiting the long-term damage from a warming climate requires action and solutions, including modernizing the types of energy we use. By harnessing solar and wind power, a new generation of biofuels, and energy efficient technology, we can meet our country’s energy needs, strengthen the economy, protect our hunting and angling traditions, and foster even more energy independence.

Unfortunately, the administration is largely repealing policies without offering modern solutions to take their place. Instead of relying on last century’s energy mix (which will only make tackling the climate challenge more difficult), we should be aggressively pursuing 21st-century energy solutions designed to address climate change and honor our land and water conservation values.



For media inquiries
Water Quality

Samantha Briggs, Clean Water Program Director – sbriggs@iwla.org

In Iowa

Zach Moss, Save Our Streams Coordinator, Midwest region – zmoss@iwla.org

In Virginia

Rebecca Shoer, Save Our Streams Coordinator, Mid-Atlantic region – rshoer@iwla.org

In the Chesapeake Bay

Emily Bialowas, Chesapeake Monitoring and Outreach Program Coordinator – ebialowas@iwla.org

In the Missouri River

Paul Lepisto, Regional Conservation Coordinator, Missouri River Initiative – plepisto@iwla.org


Agriculture Policy

Duane Hovorka, Agriculture Program Director – dhovorka@iwla.org

In Illinois and Iowa

Tim Wagner, Agriculture Outreach Coordinator – twagner@iwla.org


Environmental Legislation

Jared Mott, Conservation Director – jmott@iwla.org


General Inquiries

Contact us at media@iwla.org.