Izaak Walton League of America

2013 IWLA National Awards

At the League's 2013 national convention, individuals and organizations from across the country were recognized for making a difference the previous year in conserving outdoor America – today and for future generations.

54 Founders Award: The League’s highest honor is given to an individual, group, or organization judged to have made an outstanding contribution to the conservation of America’s natural and renewable resources. Only one can be awarded per year, and in some years an award is not made if no candidates are deemed worthy. (You can read a full list of previous award winners online.)  

  • Lloyd E. Miller (Florida)

Hall of Fame Award: These members achieved a record of outstanding accomplishment in furthering the mission and goals of the League.

  • Charlotte Brooker (Minnesota)
  • Joe Gavin (Iowa)
  • Tom Holm (Iowa) (pictured right with IWLA national president Bob Chapman)

Conservation Award: Recognizes individual member contributions to conservation in the name of the League.

  • Daniel Derkics (Maryland)
  • Richard Graham (Ohio)
  • Will Haas (Virginia)
  • Greg Raines, Jr. (Virginia)
  • Steve Roe (Iowa)
  • Richard Walters (Indiana)

Save Our Streams Award: Presented to individuals, groups, and/or organizations that have done outstanding work in environmental education and citizen activism for clean water.

  • Ken Schroll (Ohio)
  • Mike Delaney (Iowa)
  • Harry Enstrom Chapter (Pennsylvania)

James Lawton Childs Award: Recognizes the chapter that has carried out the most outstanding conservation program(s) during the past year. This award also includes a gift of $500 from the Izaak Walton League of America Endowment.

  • Small Chapter (less than 500 members): Kampeska Chapter (South Dakota)

Robert C. O’Hair Award: Recognizes the chapter that has carried out the most outstanding youth program(s) during the past year. This award includes a gift of $250.

  • Small Chapter (less than 500 members): Hamilton Chapter (Ohio)
  • Large Chapter (more than 500 members): Rockville Chapter (Maryland)

Honor Roll Award: These people and organizations achieved outstanding accomplishments in conservation, public education, and/or publicity efforts in keeping with the League’s goals.

  • John Davidson (South Dakota)
  • Michael Echterling (Indiana)
  • Margaret “Meg” Leader (Indiana)
  • Leland McDonald (Wyoming)
  • Randolph County Recycling Center (West Virginia)

Stanford M. Adams Memorial Award: Recognizes a National Director, Director-at-Large, or Regional Governor who has shown extraordinary commitment to the duties and responsibilities that come with his or her League position.

  • Wes Sheets (Nebraska)

Thelma “Pete” Reed Memorial Award: Presented to a member who has volunteered many hours at the local or state level in conservation projects, educational efforts, community service, or chapter leadership development and is considered an “up and coming” future leader of the Izaak Walton League.

  • Ken Lefebvre (Maryland)

Home  |  Contact  |  Report Web Problems  |  Privacy and Security
Izaak Walton League of America
707 Conservation Lane   ·  Gaithersburg, MD  20878
(301) 548-0150 (main)   ·  info@iwla.org
Copyright 2015, All rights reserved.

Powered by Orchid Suites
Orchid ver. 4.7.6.