2015 IWLA National Awards

During the 2016 national convention we had the pleasure of recognizing individuals and organizations from across the country that made a difference in conserving outdoor America – today and for future generations.

National Awards

54 Founders Award

The League’s highest honor is given to someone judged to have made outstanding contributions to the conservation of America’s natural and renewable resources.

Jim Madsen (South Dakota)

Hall of Fame Award

Recognizes outstanding accomplishments in furthering the mission and goals of the League.

Gerald Ernst (Wisconsin)
Ron Kuipers (Maryland)
Bruce McGlenn (Washington)

Conservation Award

Recognizes individual member contributions to conservation in the name of the League.

Donald Gates (New York)
Douglas Harr (South Dakota)
William Jackson (Maryland)
Byron “Butch” Mezick (Maryland)
Rodger Moran (Maryland)

Save Our Streams Award

Individuals, groups, and/or organizations that have done outstanding work in environmental education and citizen activism for clean water.

Monogalia County Chapter (West Virginia)
Northwest Indiana Paddling Association (Indiana)
Bonnie Swarner (Indiana)

James Lawton Childs Award

Recognizes outstanding conservation programs and includes a gift of $500 from the IWLA Endowment.

Small Chapter (less than 500 members)
White Oak River Chapter (North Carolina)

Large Chapter (more than 500 members)
Bethesda-Chevy Chase Chapter (Maryland)

Robert C. O’Hair Award

Recognizes outstanding youth programs and includes a gift of $250.

Small Chapter (less than 500 members)
Brown County Chapter (Wisconsin)

Large Chapter (more than 500 members)
Rockville Chapter (Maryland)

Honor Roll Award

Recognizes outstanding accomplishments in conservation, public education, and/or publicity in keeping with the League’s goals.

Albert “Al” Daher (New York)
Seneca Valley Chapter No. 369 of Trout Unlimited (Maryland)
Izabela Sikora (Virginia)
Lisa Stadler (Maryland)
Stadler Nurseries (Maryland)
Ronald Wisniewski (Virginia)

Stanford M. Adams Memorial Award

Recognizes a National Director, Director-at-Large, or Regional Governor who has shown extraordinary commitment to his or her duties and responsibilities.

Harry Kidder (Virginia)  

Thelma “Pete” Reed Memorial Award

Recognizes a member who has volunteered many hours at the local or state level in conservation projects, educational efforts, community service, or chapter leadership development and is considered an “up and coming” future leader.

Paul Zarowny (Indiana)

Defenders Chapter Achievement Awards

At our Membership Awards breakfast, 39 chapters took home the League’s Defenders Chapter Achievement Award. To receive the award, chapters must meet criteria in five of the following six categories: membership, financial contributions, education, conservation, youth involvement, and communications. These groups showcase the depth of the conservation commitment across the Izaak Walton League.

Austin Chapter (Minnesota)
Berkeley County Chapter (West Virginia)
Bethesda-Chevy Chase Chapter (Maryland)
Bill Cook Chapter (Wisconsin)
Brown County Chapter (Wisconsin)
Bush Lake Chapter (Minnesota)
Central New York Chapter (New York)
Des Moines Chapter (Iowa)
Dwight Lydell Chapter (Michigan)
Elgin Chapter (Illinois)
Frederick #1 Chapter (Maryland)
Fredericksburg-Rappahannock Chapter (Virginia)
Grand Island Chapter (Nebraska)
Hamilton Chapter (Ohio)
Harford County Chapter (Maryland)
Kampeska Chapter (South Dakota)
Lincoln Chapter (Nebraska)
Lois Green-Sligo Chapter (Maryland)
Loudoun County Chapter (Virginia)
Mid-Shore Chapter (Maryland) 
Minnesota Valley Chapter (Minnesota)
Mountaineer Chapter (West Virginia) 
New Ulm Chapter (Minnesota)
Owatonna Chapter (Minnesota)
Prairie Woods Chapter* (Minnesota)
Rockville Chapter (Maryland)
Silverton Chapter (Oregon)
Sioux Falls Chapter (South Dakota)
Sportsman’s Chapter (Maryland)
Sunshine Chapter (South Dakota)
Tiffin-Seneca County Chapter (Ohio) 
W.J. McCabe Chapter (Minnesota)
Walter J. Breckenridge Chapter (Minnesota)
Warren County Chapter (Iowa)
Warren County Chapter (Virginia)
Wayne County Chapter (Ohio)
Wildlife Achievement Chapter (Maryland)
Will Dilg Chapter (Minnesota)
York Chapter #67 (Pennsylvania)

* First Time Recognition

Membership Awards

Best Chapter Member Recruitment

Recognizes the chapter that carried out the most effective membership recruitment and retention program during the previous year.

Brown County Chapter (Wisconsin)

Best Chapter Newsletter

(based on appearance, originality, timeliness, and news coverage, including national and state news and community conservation)

Large Chapter (> 500 members):
Bethesda-Chevy Chase (Maryland)

Best Chapter Web Site

(based on appearance, originality, and news coverage)

Suffolk-Nansemond (Virginia)